Community Action

Download The Archuleta County/Pagosa Springs Broadband Strategic Plan Here. 

Download the 2018 Archuleta County CDAP – Final

About Community Development Action Plans

The Region 9 Economic Development District updates and monitors the Community Development Action Plans (CDAPs) for Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma and San Juan Counties in an ongoing cycle about every two years. The CDAPs are:

  • Projects with completion dates with a timeframe of two years or less.
  • Projects are reviewed and prioritized by community groups, governments, citizens and stakeholders and then confirmed or revised by the appropriate county board of commissioners.
  • Ranked and signed by each County’s Board of Commissioners.
  • Projects being listed in an approved Community Action Plan is required for many state and federal funding sources.

The CDAP categories include, but are not limited to:

Public Infrastructure and Services

  • Public Infrastructure
  • Gas, electric, water, sewer, solid waste, recycling
  • Transportation
  • Telecommunications


  • Arts and culture
  • Education
  • Childcare
  • Fire protection
  • Health & Human Services
  • Land use
  • Public Lands
  • Parks and recreation
  • Public safety
  • Historic Preservation

Economic Development

  1. Business expansion and retention
    • Retention – incentives to keep businesses in the community
    • Capital for business expansion, i.e. revolving loan funds
    • Recruitment of new businesses
    • Development of infrastructure, i.e. industrial parks
  2. Tourism
  3. Workforce development / training
  4. Agriculture